Daily Archives: April 8, 2012

Day 98: Atomic Hashbrowns!

Completed 4/8/2012, posted 4/9/2012. Here’s why.

Mike regularly indulges my love for the Food Network, but no matter how many delicious things we see our favorite chefs cook, or that I recreate in our kitchen, he continues to eat a lot of things I think are particularly gross. Corned beef hash. Canned chili. Ham sandwiches with ranch dressing. Bleh.

But early on in our relationship he introduced me to something amazing. Eggs over easy, crumbled-up bacon, and crispy hashbrowns, all mixed up together on the plate. I’m telling you, it’s breakfast heaven à la Ihop.

Unfortunately, I’m rarely able to recreate this breakfast at home. I usually end up overcooking the eggs, but more often than not it’s the hashbrowns that trip me up. I can never seem to get them crisp and brown enough without burning them.

But no more! Thanks to this great recipe from Jeff Mauro (and a new non-stick pan that Santa brought), I have an official go-to hashbrown recipe. It’s a great big potato cake, really – not loose and fluffy like hashbrowns grilled on a flattop – but they’re delish and will be awesome with bacon and eggs. For their debut appearance in my kitchen, the Atomic Hashbrowns joined Honeybaked ham, green bean casserole, ambrosia, and corn-on-the-cob for an Easter feast. They came out perfect, everyone loved them, and we gobbled them up so fast I didn’t even get a picture of their perfect potato circleness before we dove in. Give them a try!

2 pounds Russet potatoes, shredded and squeezed in a kitchen towel to dry them out. Mix in granulated garlic, paprika, and a touch of cayenne.

Press the potatoes into a hot pan and cook until crispy and golden on the bottom. Invert the potato cake onto a plate and slide it back into the pan to cook the other side. (My pan was only 10 inches - I'd try 12 next time for a thinner cake.)

Slide the cake out of the pan, and slice it up like a pizza!